Egg Baked in a Tomato

There is a sandwich at a local bakery I’m obsessed with. Its so simple but so perfect. They roast plump tomatoes and put them in a sandwich with boiled eggs, basil and a parmesan cheese. It’s divine but I unfortunately don’t have the money to go there everyday and the sandwich is a little messy. So I wondered how I could combined these flavors in a convenient way. I found my solution  on pinterest. The egg baked in tomato recipe has everything I love about that sandwich minus the bread.

Here is the link to the original recipe: http://www.cookforyourlife.org/recipes/eggs-baked-in-tomatoes

Materials needed are:

2 large  tomatoes

2 cloves of garlic (I just used garlic powder cause I was feeling lazy)

Olive oil

Salt and pepper

2 eggs

Parmesan cheese (I used a lot)

Fresh basil

20140511_174223

To start this recipe I had to hollow out the two tomatoes with a spoon.

20140511_174714

This is easier said than done. I felt like I was trying to dig through cement with a spoon. I would recommend using a paring knife instead. Here are the results of my labor.

20140511_175158

Once they were hollowed out I drizzle them with olive oil and season them salt, pepper and garlic. Once the tomatoes were hollowed out I placed them in an oven preheated to 400 degrees. I left them in there for a little more than twenty minutes. You want to leave them in long enough to develop a roasted flavor.

After they came out of the oven I cracked an egg into each tomato.

20140511_182005

I then placed them back in the oven. The original instructions say the egg cooks in 5 minute but I wasn’t surprised when it was raw five minute later. I have learned from other projects that there is no exact time on baking an egg in something else.

So placed them back in the oven and check on them in five minute intervals. After fifteen minutes I ended up with this.

20140511_184650

It tasted just like the sandwich  I loved. This was so good I didn’t even miss the bread.

20140511_185556

So overall this recipe passes the DIY test. My only complaint about the original instructions is the timing of the egg is a little off. Other than that this project is what a DIY should be. Simple, repeatable and delicious!

Leave a Reply

