Cheesecake stuffed strawberries

Strawberry cheesecake is one of my favorite things. But since I grew up eating cheesecake from Juniors bakery in NYC, my standards for cheesecake are pretty. So when I saw a pinterest recipe for a healthy cheesecake alternative I was extremely skeptical. Can the deliciousness of cheesecake really be properly replicated with half the fat? Well there is only one way to find out.

Here is the link to the original project: http://www.thesweetslife.com/2011/08/cheesecake-stuffed-strawberries.html

Material I used for this project:

1 lb large strawberries

1 package of cream cheese

1/2 cup of powdered sugar

2 tsp vanilla extract

graham cracker crumbs

Few drops of lemon juice (its not in the original recipe but balances the sweetness)

 

IMG950045

I started this recipe by preparing the strawberries. The instructions say to cut the tops of and hollow them out with a paring knife. It made this process sound so easy…but it wasn’t! Whoever came up with the idea of hollowing out strawberries for anything was some kind of sadist because this was torture. I butchered two strawberries beyond repair and nearly did the same to my hand. Plus it took like 20 minutes to do 13 strawberries. I had these after completing this horrible task.

20140513_223720

My recommendation would be to use a melon baller it you have one. It will be so much easier.

After that torment I was happy to move on to something easier like mixing. I put the cream cheese, powdered sugar, lemon juice and vanilla in a large bowl to combine. The instructions say to use a hand mixer to blend this and I agree, you should use a hand mixer. I know this because I chose not to listen to the instructions and mixed the filling by hand. It was horrible. The only upside was that I got my arm workout for the day.

Once the cheesecake filling was done place I placed it in a ziplock to make a piping bag. I then started filling the strawberries.

20140513_224923

This was the easiest part of this project. I started from the very bottom of the strawberry and used a swirling motion to make the tops. After the strawberries were all filled, I dusted them with graham cracker crumbs. This was my end result.

20140513_225616

This is the first food project I’ve done that looks as good as the original. But the real test was the taste. I bit into one and it was DIVINE! The strawberries natural tartness was the perfect contrast to the fillings sweetness. The graham cracker crumbs even kept me from missing the traditional cheesecake crust.

Overall cheesecake filled strawberries Pass the DIY test. My only suggestions would be to follow the instructions, use the tool change I recommended and be aware that these are extremely labor intensive. But totally worth it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

