Baked Mozzarella sticks

You know what is better than mozzarella sticks during the stress of finals week? Absolutely nothing! Nothings take away the fear of potentially failing better then breaded and fried cheese. But since I don’t have the time to fry anything and refuse to shell out money, I went in search of an alternative.  That’s how I came upon this project.

Here is the original project link: http://www.skinnytaste.com/2012/02/skinny-baked-mozzarella-sticks.html

Materials needed for this project are:

12  string cheese sticks (I used Sargento)
1 large egg, beaten
2 tbsp flour
5 tbsp Italian seasoned breadcrumbs
5 tbsp panko crumbs
2 tsp parmesan cheese
1 tbsp dried parsley

I started this project by cutting the cheese sticks in half and placing them in the freezer. This step is extremely important and I will explain why later.

20140513_200351

Then I mixed the panko, breadcrumbs and parmesan cheese on a plate. After that I placed the flour in one bowl and scrambled the end in another. I set all the ingredients up in an assembly line fashion and was ready to go.

After taking the fairly frozen cheese sticks out of the freezer, I placed them in the flour first

20140513_200354

I moved them into the egg wash then into the bread crumb mix

20140513_200356

20140513_200400

I placed them on a baking try with tin foil. Once they were all breaded my tray looked like this.

20140513_201830

I decided to do them in small batches of twelve because I wanted to do a test run. Doing these projects This was good decision because the first batch came out like this.

20140513_192738

I follow the original instructions and only cooked them for five minutes on each side. This is where I realized my potential mistake and the importance of  the cheese being frozen. If the cheese isn’t cold enough it will melt before the breading can brown.

So I put  my remaining cheese sticks in the freezer for another two hours till they were hard as rocks. I did the breading  process again and placed them in the oven. I watched them like a hawk, doing five minutes on each side. The result of my work was this

20140513_204808

A slightly browner version of the test run sticks….

So even though melted puddles of cheese with breading are delicious, they are not mozzarella sticks.  Im not sure how the original project got perfect results but it definitely wasnt with the given instructions.

Baked mozzarella sticks fail the DIY test

  I have learned two things from this project. The first one is that test runs are a great idea even if they don’t help. The second thing is that foods are best left to people with deep friers.

Leave a Reply

